Welcome to our new Action Project Associate!

Hi there, my name is Aparna Barua and I would just like to take this opportunity to introduce myself! As of 21st January 2010 I became the Project Associate for the ACTION project. I have a background in Biochemistry and an MSc in the Control of Infectious Diseases from the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine.

Over the last 3 years I have been working in grass roots advocacy in rural India and the UK on HIV/AIDS issues. I am really excited to bring this experience into the ACTION project and tuberculosis. I have a passionate interest in global health and social development and I look forward to working closely with TB advocates in the UK and around the world!

My first two weeks on the job have been kicked off with a meeting with the UK Coalition to Stop TB and a visit to the European Parliament in Brussels to witness the inauguration of a new MEP Working Group on Innovation, Access to Medicines and Poverty Related diseases. Its still early days, but I believe this will be an interesting group to follow and keep an eye on, so watch this space!

2 responses to “Welcome to our new Action Project Associate!

  1. Dr Dhiman Barua

    Very glad to see that you have joined a very sound and well known team of people -I told you that you will be able to find a suitable opportunity to show your ability as you have acquired so much knowledge and experience.I wish you well .

  2. Welcome Aparna! We’re all really excited to be working with you.

Leave a Reply

